4th December 2015

The newly elected Regional Councillors for Otjozondjupa region where sworn in on the 4th of December 2015.  Six out of the seven Councillors where re-elected while Councillor for Omatako Constituency Isreal Riukua Hukura is new on the Regional Council.

There are now five councillors from the SWAPO Party and two from NUDO on the Otjozondjupa Regional Council. Councillor Julius Neumbo of Otjiwarongo Constituency was elected as the new Chairperson for Council with Councillors Nelao Amagulu of Grootfontein Constituency and Councillor Vetaruhe Kandorozu of Okakarara Constituency as members of the Council’s management committee.

Three Councillors namely, Steve Biko Booys of Okahandja, Francina Gauhz of Tsumkwe and Laina Nekundi of Otavi Constituency where elected as members of the National Council.

June 2015

Councilor for Otavi Constituency Laina Nekundi is sworn in. Nekundi who was the sole contender for the position was declare the winner after other political parties failed to field candidates for the by-election to take place. She replaces the late Councilor Ndapewa Nambili who passed away in June 2015.